



People in News: April 2022

1. Wilfried Brutsaert



- Wilfried Brutsaert bags Stockholm Water Prize 2022.
- He is the Professor of Engineering Emeritus at Cornell University, US.
- He was awarded for his work to quantify Environmental Evaporation.

2. Robert Abela



- Robert Abela is the Prime Minister of Malta.
- He is elected for the 2nd Term as PM of Malta.
- He is from the Labour Party of Malta.

3. Arunabha Ghosh



- Arunabha Ghosh is appointed as the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the High-Level Expert Group on Net-Zero Emission Commitments.
- He previously served as the CEO of the Council of Energy, Environment and Water (CEEW).

4. Anthony Heredia



- Anthony Heredia is appointed as the Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer (MD & CEO) of Mahindra Manulife Investment Management Private Limited.
- He succeeded Ashutosh Bishnoi.
- Anthony previously served as the CEO of BOI AXA Investment Managers Private Limited.

5. Raj Subramaniam



- Raj Subramaniam is the new CEO of FedEx.
- He replaced Frederick W Smith.
- Previously, Raj worked as the Executive Vice President and Chief Marketing Officer at FedEx.

6. S. Raju



- S. Raju is the new Director-General of the Geological Survey of India (GSI).
- He succeeded R.S. Garkhal.

• Prior to his appointment, he worked as the Additional Director General and National Head of Mission III and IV at GSI.

7. Aarefa Johari



- Aarefa Johari wins Chameli Devi Jain Award for 2021.
- She is a journalist from Mumbai.
- She works for "Scroll. in" in Mumbai.

8. Vikor Orban



- Viktor Orban is appointed as the Prime Minister of Hungary.
- He is setting his office for the 4th term as Prime Minister of Hungary.
- He belongs to Fidesz Party.

9. Aleksandar Vucic



• Aleksandar Vucic is the new President of Serbia.

- He is elected for the 2nd term.
- He belongs to the Serbian Progressive Party.

10. Harsh V Shringla



- Harsh V Shringla is appointed as the Chief Coordinator of the G20 Summit.
- He is the Foreign Secretary of India.
- G20 Summit is hosted by India in 2023.

11. Dr. lan Fry



- Dr. Ian Fry is appointed as the Climate Change Expert by United Nations Human Rights Council.
- He is from Tuvalu.
- He is the world's 1st Independent Expert on Human Right and Climate Change.

12. Amar Mitra



- Amar Mitra won O' Henry Prize.
- He won for his book "Goanbura".
- He is a Bengali writer.

• O' Henry Prize is given to short fiction stories.

13. Mian Mohammad Shehbaz Sharif



- Mian Mohammad Shehbaz Sharif is the new Prime Minister of Pakistan.
- He is the 23rd Prime Minister of Pakistan.
- He was appointed after the sudden removal of Imran Khan, Former PM of Pakistan.

14. Manoj Soni



- Dr. Manoj Soni is appointed as the New Chairman of UPSC (Union Public Service Commission).
- He replaces Pradip Kumar Joshi.
- He was a Member of UPSC before the appointment.

15. Mahesh Verma



- Mahesh Verma is appointed as the Chairman of the National Accreditation Board for Hospitals and Health Care Providers (NABH).
- He previously served as the Vice Chancellor of Guru Gobind Singh Indraprastha University, Delhi.

16. Prabhat Patnaik



- Prabhat Patnaik is selected for Malcolm Adiseshiah Award 2022.
- He was selected for the contribution made to development studies as an outstanding economist.
- He hails from Odisha.
- He is an Economic Professor at the Centre of Economic Studies and Planning (CESP), New Delhi.

17. Robin Uthappa



- Robin Uthappa is appointed as the Brand Ambassador for Karnataka Brain Health Initiative.
- He is a former Indian Cricket Player.

• This initiative was taken by Karnataka State Government.

18. Sourav Ganguly



- Sourav Ganguly is appointed as the Brand Ambassador for Lloyd Eastern Indian Markets.
- He is a former Indian Cricket Player.
- Lloyd is the Electrical Good Durable Brand.

19. Manoj Chandrashekhar Pande



- Lt. General Manoj Chandrashekhar Pande is the 29th Chief of Army Staff.
- He succeeded Lt. General Manoj Mukund Naravane.

20. Jasleen Kohli



- Jasleen Kohli is the new MD & CEO of Digit Insurance.
- She had succeeded Vijay Kumar.
- She previously worked as the Chief Distribution Officer in Digit Sales Department.

21. Patrick Achi



- Patrick Achi is reappointed as the Prime Minister of Cote d'Ivoire.
- It is a country on the Southwest Coast of Africa.

22. Ajay Kumar Sood



- Ajay Kumar Sood is appointed as the Principal Scientific Advisor of the Government of India.
- He succeeded K. Vijay Raghavan.
- He is the Professor at the Department of Physics, IISC, Bangalore.

23. Babita Singh



- Babita Singh is appointed as the Asia Africa Consortium (AAC), Global Peace Ambassador 2022.
- This is to promote peace through education and sports.
- Babita Singh is an Indian born and raised in Nigeria.

24. Suman K Bery



- Suman K Bery is appointed as the Vice Chairman of NITI Aayog (National Institution for Transforming India).
- He succeeds Rajiv Kumar.
- He is a full-time member of NITI Aayog.

25. Narendra Modi



- Prime Minister of India Shri. Narendra Modi receives the 1st Lata Deenanath Mangeshkar Award.
- He received that prize in Mumbai.
- He was awarded for his "selfless service to the country and society".

26. Emmanuel Macron



- Emmanuel Macron has been elected as the President of France for the 2nd time.
- He has defeated Marine Le Pen.

27. Robert Golob



- Robert Golob is the new Prime Minister of Slovenia.
- He has defeated 3 times Prime Minister Janez Jansa.
- Robert belongs to Freedom Movement Party.

28. Krishnan Ramanujam



- Krishnan Ramanujam is appointed as the Chairperson of the National Association of Software and Services Companies (NASSCOM).
- He is the President of Tata Consultancy Services (TCS) at Enterprise Growth Group.
- He succeeds Rekha M. Menon.

29. Kishore Das



- Kishore Das is selected for the Common Wealth Points of Light Award.
- He is the founder of 'Bidyanondo'.
- Bidyanondo is the Bangladesh Educational Charity.

30. Ashwin Yardi



- Ashwin Yardi is appointed as the UNICEF's Yuwaah Board Co-Chair.
- He is the CEO of Capgemini.
- He will co-chair along with Yasumasa Kimura.

